Anne Arundel County
[horizontal rule]

Click on the seal to see a larger version

[Anne [MD map showing

Anne Arundel County was created in 1650 and was named for Lady Anne Arundell, wife of Cecilius, Second Lord Baltimore who was founder of the Maryland colony. The county lies in the center of the State.

There are over 34,000 acres in farms in Anne Arundel County. The major products of the farms are soybeans, corn, hay, vegetables and wheat. The remaining acreage is in pasture, woodlots, nursery stock and fruit production.

In 1695, the capital of the State of Maryland was moved to Annapolis in Anne Arundel County. The county seat is also Annapolis.


Back to Maryland's Counties