Frederick County
[horizontal divider]

Click on the flag & the seal to see a larger version

Frederick County is located in the central, Piedmont area of Maryland. It was created in 1748 from Baltimore and Prince George's counties. Its 424,283 acres make it the second largest county in Maryland. The land changes from gently rolling hills in the southern part of the county to near mountain-like conditions in the northern part of the county.

The county has many different types of crops and livestock, but it is most well known for its dairy farms. It ranks first in the State in milk production . (Click on the ice cream cone for a recipe using milk.)

It gets its name from Frederick Calvert, the sixth and last Lord Baltimore. It was the home of Elizabeth Ann Seton, the first American-born saint. The county seat is Frederick.

The Counties Formed from Frederick County
  • Frederick - Formed in 1748 from Prince George's County
  • Montgomery - Formed in 1776
  • Washington (which also included Allegany and Garrett) - Formed in 1776
  • Allegany was formed in 1789 (from Washington Co)
  • Carroll (western half) - Formed in 1837 from Baltimore & Frederick Counties
  • Garrett was formed in 1872 (from Washington Co)

Below is some interesting census information about Frederick County. Look at the way the county population has changed over the years!

Population Information for Frederick County
Population % of MD Population
1790 Census 30,791 9.6%
1890 Census 49,512 4.7%
1990 Census 150,208 3.1%
2000 Census 195,277 3.7%

© Copyright October 16, 1997, Office of the Secretary of State.
Last Modified October 04, 2002 .