Maryland's Government
horizontal divider
[light bulb]
The Maryland General Assembly meets in Annapolis each year for 90 days to act on more than 2,300 bills including the State's budget. The General Assembly has 47 Senators and 141 Delegates.
Governor - Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr.

Lt. Governor - Michael S. Steele

Secretary of State - R. Karl Aumann

Maryland is divided into 23 counties. Most of the counties are governed by commissioners elected to 4-year terms. Several have an elected county executive. The city of Baltimore is not part of any county and is governed by a mayor and a city council.
Kendel Ehrlich
MD's First Lady
Click her picture and learn more about her

horizontal divider
© Copyright October 16, 1997, Office of the Secretary of State.
Last Modified February 12, 2003 .